Wednesday, April 25, 2018

UnitedAg awards $31,000 to thirty-six students Monterey and neighboring County Students


UnitedAg awards $31,000 to Thirty-Six Students in Monterey and neighboring Counties

April 25, 2018

Thirty-six Students in Monterey and neighboring Counties have received scholarship awards totaling $31,000. UnitedAg awarded the scholarships after reviewing 86 submitted applications. Applicants submitted in addition to detailed information, an essay focused on top issues impacting agriculture and new challenges and opportunities that farmers face every day.

UnitedAg is proud to announce the following winners:

Corral De Tierra:

  • Edgar Lopez; San Jose State University; Merrill Farms.


  • Christine Russo; St. John's University; Christopher Ranch LLC.
  • Rocio Velasquez; California State University Sacramento;Christopher Ranch LLC.


  • Daniel Kennedy; Oregon State University; Green Valley Farm Supply.


  • Veronica Leon-Vega; Cuesta College; Braga Ranch.
  • Crystal Villanueva; University of California, Santa Cruz; JE Farms Inc.
  • Aaron Hernandez; Cal Poly Pomona; McIntyre Labor Services.


  • Emily Cruz; University of California, Merced; Church Brothers Farms.
  • Tanya Dimas-Guillen;California State University, Dominguez Hills; Mann Packing.
  • Rebeca Gallaga; RAMCO.
  • David Gonzalez; University of Southern California; Henry Hibino Farms.
  • Kevin Gonzalez; University of Southern California; Henry Hibino Farms.
  • Adrian Ortiz; California State University, Monterey Bay; Foothill Packing.
  • Andrea Rivera Maranon; CSU Fresno; RAMCO.
  • Andrea Soto; Imperial Valley College; Foothill Packing.
  • Ben Buckman; Pacific International Marketing.
  • David Murillo-Martinez; Hartnell College; Church Brothers.
  • Karla Soto; San Francisco State University; Foothill Packing.
  • Lizbeth De La Torre; Monterey Peninsula College; RAMCO.
  • Lizbeth Ramos; CSU Monterey Bay; True Leaf Farms.
  • Jesus Castillo; Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College; Foothill Packing.
  • Nick Batterman; UC Santa Barbara; Blanco Farms.
  • Selena Medine-Medrano; Hartnell College; RAMCO.
  • Shae Scarr; Chapman University; The Nunes Company.
  • Henry Kou; University of California Los Angeles;Tanimura & Antle.
  • Brittany Spedaliere; California State University Monterey Bay; Tanimura & Antle.
  • Patrick Briley; Franciscan University of Steubenville; Hayashi & Wayland.
  • Mercedez Gaona; Cabrillo College; Dynapac Harvesting.

San Juan Bautista:

  • Ryan Yeaman; University of California, Berkeley; Coke Farms.
  • August Brigantino; UC San Diego; True Leaf Farms.


  • Marijane Median; Point Loma Nazarene University; True Organic Products.


  • Sinai Cabrera; Hartnell College; Valley Pride.
  • Alesha Corral; California State University, East Bay; Classic Salads.
  • Daviana Navarro; Santa Clara University; Watsonville Coast Produce.
  • Joel Meza; San Jose University; Sakai Farms LLC.
  • Chelsea Odegaard; Cabrillo College; Plant Sciences.

The Scholarship Awards Ceremony Luncheon will take place on April 26, 2018 at the Growers Pub - 227 Monterey Street, Salinas, CA 93901.

For further information, contact the UnitedAg Marketing team at 800.223.4590