Monday, May 11, 2020

UnitedAg Announces 2020 Scholarship Recipients

The agriculture association awarded a combined $75,000 to sixty deserving students across California and Arizona

IRVINE, Calif., May 11, 2020 – UnitedAg announced the 2020-2021 recipients of the Agribusiness Education Foundation’s educational scholarship. The member-owned agricultural trade association awarded sixty students from agricultural communities across California and Arizona a combined $75,000.

Each year, the association’s Board of Directors and the Foundation’s Education Committee spotlight two outstanding applicants with top awards. Karli Lundberg (affiliated with Babe Farms, Inc.) earned the Maurice McMillan Award. Allyson Tomasello (affiliated with Produce West, Inc.) received the William C. Goodrich Scholarship, created in honor of the late UnitedAg founder.

The scholarship funds are for use during the 2020-2021 academic year and can be applied towards tuition costs, fees, books and room and board. Previous UnitedAg scholarship winners have earned degrees and taken their place in management, government, market development and foreign trade, with many working in agribusiness.

Since its first award in 1989, the Agribusiness Education Foundation has awarded over $1.5 million in scholarship monies to over 900 students.

2020 Scholarship Recipients

Maurice McMillan Memorial Scholarship Award
Karli Lundberg, Babe Farms, Inc., (Santa Maria, CA)

William C. Goodrich Scholarship Award
Allyson Tomasello, Produce West, Inc., (Salinas, CA)

California Recipients

Miranda Devan, Braga Fresh Foods

Andrea Soto, Foothill Packing

Diviana Navarro, Watsonville Coast Produce

Ryan Calbert, Wizard Manufacturing, Inc.

Kandra Salinas, Citrus Research Board

Sandy Rubio, Toma-Tek

Venissia Garcia, Nichols Farms, Inc.
Denver Noell, Nichols Pistachio

Brenda Barragan, Christopher Ranch, LLC

Ashlynn Geiger, McCorkle Farms, Inc.

Elizabeth Acevedo, Fresh Foods, Inc.

Oscar Garcia-Medina, Dover Dairy Farms

King City
Belinda Silva Chavez, South County Packing

Madelynn Reed, Mountain View Cold Storage, LLC

La Grange
Brandon Harden, Green Rubber-Kennedy Ag, LP

Emely Cruz, Church Brothers, LLC

Jennifer Burton, Ippolito International

Edgar Lopez, Saticoy Lemon Association
Cesar Rivera, Ventura Pacific Co.
Arianna Sanchez, Saticoy Lemon Association

Ricky Alvarez, The Nunes Company, Inc./ Blanco
Kenya Burton, Markon Cooperative, Inc.
Lizbeth De La Torre, Ramco Employment Services
Benjamin Eastman, Brent Eastman Insurance Services., Inc.
Mercedez Espino, Green Rubber-Kennedy Ag, LP
Miriam Garcia Cendejas, Elkhorn Packing Co., LLC
Maria Medina, Ramco Employment Services
Selena Medina Medrano, Ramco Employment Services
Melody Neely Cabrera, Sea Mist Farms
Allyson Tomasello, Produce West, Inc.

San Ardo
Aaron Hernandez, McIntyre Labor Service, Inc.

San Diego
Bryan Amaro, Pacific Ag Consulting

Santa Maria
Eddie Lundberg, Babe Farms, Inc.

Santa Paula
Osvaldo Ambriz Magana, Saticoy Lemon Association
Katherine Miller, Saticoy Lemon Association
Elizabeth Miller, Saticoy Lemon Association

Rachel Costa, Foothill Packing
Michelle Flores-Leon, Braga Ranch
Rebeca Gallaga, Ramco Employment Services
Cristian Vargas, Al Pak Labor
Adriana Vargas Mendoza, Braga Ranch

David Fagundes, Bosman Dairy
Jazmin Rios Martinez, Nichols Farms, Inc.

Hannah Ryan, Associated Feed & Supply

Valley Center
Jenna Stehly, Nick Stehly Farms, Inc.

Josef Martinez, Ventura Pacific Co.

Isabella Argueta, Nichols Farms, Inc.
Brendon Atsma, Angiola Dairy
America Huipio-Piedra, Nichols Pistachio
Michele Noell, Nichols Farms, Inc.
Alondra Sanchez, Nichols Farms, Inc.
Brian Valencia, Nichols Farms, Inc.

Jason Gonzalez, Henry Hibino Farms, LLC
Kevin Gonzalez, Henry Hibino Farms, LLC
Arturo Infante II, Ocean Mist Farms, Inc.

Arizona Recipients

Maria De Jesus Rizo, Duncan Family Farms

San Luis
Jaydi Ramirez, Valley Pride, Inc.

Melanie Rodriguez, Duncan Family Farms

Alberto Rivera Torres, Foothill Packing

About the Scholarship Program

Established in 1989, the scholarship program provides financial assistance to UnitedAg-affiliated students in any major of study. Previous scholarship winners have taken their place in management, government, market development, international sales and foreign trade. Some students have gone on to pursue advanced graduate studies.

About the Agribusiness Education Foundation

Founded in 2000, the Agribusiness Education Foundation (AEF) assists members, employees of members and their families pave their way to educational and future success. The Foundation empowers the ag community through financial assistance, business skills education and leadership development.

About UnitedAg

Founded in 1980, UnitedAg is a member-owned agricultural trade association dedicated to providing innovative health benefit solutions for a strong and healthy agricultural industry. UnitedAg represents more than 1,000 agriculture-affiliated member organizations, including agricultural companies (growers, shippers, coolers, processors, dairy and livestock producers and supporting businesses); associates; cooperatives; and partner agricultural associations.

UnitedAg helps its members meet their employee benefits needs, promotes their interests with lawmakers, and helps them comply with legislation and regulation. Based in Irvine, Calif., UnitedAg has offices and health centers in Oxnard, Corona, Salinas, Fresno and Santa Maria. For more information, visit