Skip to Content (Press Enter)


Congressman Panetta Leads 108 Members in Calling on USDA to Provide Direct Support to Specialty Crop Producers


SALINAS, CA – Today, Congressman Jimmy Panetta (D-CA-20), along with Congressman Fred Upton (R-MI-06), Congressman Jim Costa (D-CA-16) and Congressman Doug LaMalfa (R-CA-01) led 108 members of the House of Representatives in sending a bipartisan letter to U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Sonny Perdue calling for the Administration to provide direct support to specialty crop producers the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act is implemented.

The CARES Act includes $14 billion for the replenishment of the Commodity Credit Corporation and an additional $9.5 billion for agricultural producers impacted by COVID-19, including specialty crop producers, producers that supply local food systems, and livestock producers.

“We are very pleased that specialty crop producers have been specifically included in this relief package. These producers are experiencing significant losses, with more losses expected in the coming days, weeks, and potentially months. Now, as you make decisions regarding how best to allocate CARES Act funding, we request that you reserve funding to develop and execute a recovery and relief plan for the specialty crop industry,” the members wrote.

The letter was signed by Representatives Alma S. Adams, Ph.D., Rick Allen, Mario Diaz-Balart, Ami Bera, Jack Bergman, Jaime Herrera Beutler, Suzanne Bonamici, Mike Bost, Anthony Brindisi, Julia Brownley, Cheri Bustos, Salud Carbajal, Tony Cárdenas, Earl L. ‘Buddy’ Carter, Emanuel Cleaver, II, Ben Cline, Jenniffer González Colón, Jim Costa, Joe Courtney, TJ Cox, Rick Crawford, Jason Crow, Henry Cuellar, Rodney Davis, Peter DeFazio, Rosa L. DeLauro, Suzan DelBene, Antonio Delgado, Val Demings, Debbie Dingell, Jeff Duncan, Neal P. Dunn, M.D., Brian Fitzpatrick, Marcia L. Fudge, Russ Fulcher, John Garamendi, Tulsi Gabbard, Josh Gottheimer, John Joyce, Vicente Gonzalez, Josh Harder, Alcee L. Hastings, Brian Higgins, Jared Golden, Jahana Hayes, Chrissy Houlahan, Jared Huffman, Bill Huizenga, Will Hurd, Fred Keller, Daniel T. Kildee, Derek Kilmer, Ann Kirkpatrick, Ann McLane Kuster, Doug LaMalfa, Doug Lamborn, Rick Larsen, Brenda Lawrence, Al Lawson, Barbara Lee, Zoe Lofgren, Tom Malinowski, Sean Patrick Maloney, Doris Matsui, James P. McGovern, Jerry McNerney, John Moolenaar, Debbie Murcarsel-Powell, Gregory F. Murphy, M.D., Stephanie Murphy, Dan Newhouse, Jimmy Panetta, Scott Perry, Collin C. Peterson, Chellie Pingree, Stacey E. Plaskett, Mark Pocan, Bill Posey, Cedric L. Richmond, Denver Riggleman, Betty McCollum, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, David Rouzer, Raul Ruiz, M.D., John H. Rutherford, Kurt Schrader, Kim Schrier, Austin Scott, David Scott, John Shimkus, Mike Simpson, Elissa Slotkin, Xochitl Torres Small, Darren Soto, Ross Spano, Elise Stefanik, Greg Steube, Eric Swalwell, Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson, Mike Thompson, Scott Tipton, Fred Upton, Jefferson Van Drew, Juan Vargas, Filemon Vela, Peter Welch, Jennifer Wexton, and Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M.

The text of the letter can be found here. Original release available at